A vegan diet is an entirely plant-based diet that excludes every product involving animal body parts, flesh or skin. Vegans strictly avoid meat, fur, and obviously dairy products. Since the last couple of years, people have been more aware of the environment and animals, which has led to a spike in accepting the vegan culture. Other than being earth-friendly, a weight-management vegan plan could be beneficial for a trimmed waistline, reduced heart diseases, and improved blood sugar control. Veganism is defined as the art of living that exempts all sorts of animal exploitation and cruelty, whether it is for food, clothing or other lifestyle purposes.
There are several types of vegan diet plans:
Whole food vegan diet: This diet is curated with whole-plant foods like fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes, nuts, and seeds.
Raw food vegan diet: This diet includes raw fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, or plant food cooked at a temperature of 48 degree Celsius.
80/10/10: This diet limits fat-rich plants such as nuts and avocados. This is also referred to as a low-fat vegan diet.
Raw till 4: This vegan diet is also a low-food diet. In this diet, raw food is consumed until 4 p.m., with an option of cooked plant-based meals for dinner.
Starch solution: This diet focuses on cooked starches like potatoes, corns, or rice instead of fruits.
Junk food vegan diet: This diet includes a lot of meat substitutes, like plant-based meat, vegan cheese, fries, vegan desserts, and other heavily processed vegan food.
What is the difference between vegan and vegetarian diets?
Vegetarians do not consume products or byproducts of animal slaughter. In vegetarianism, you can't consume:
-> Meat such as beef, pork, red meat etc.
-> Poultry meat
-> Rennet, gelatin, and other animal protein
-> Stocks of fat derived from animal slaughter
Vegetarians generally consume a range of fruits, nuts, seeds, grains, pulses, and dairy products like milk and cheese yoghurt. Mushrooms and cottage cheese are meat substitutes for vegetarians.
Veganism is a stricter form of vegetarianism. Vegans avoid consuming and using products that include animal flesh, skin, bone, or other organs. They don't even consume honey and dairy products. The Vegan Society defines veganism as a way of living that excludes all the products that involve animal exploitation. Some of the things vegans can't consume are:
-> Dairy products
-> Omega 3 fatty acids
-> Beer and wine
-> Bread related products
Some easy Indian vegan food options are:
Chana masala: This north Indian dish is mainly eaten in breakfast or as evening snacks with flatbread. It is a chickpea curry made with tomato, garlic, ginger, onion, and plenty of spices. The only non-vegan ingredient that might be used sometimes is ghee, but you can easily avoid that if you want.
Dal chawaal: This is one of the most staple food options in every Indian household. This lentil soup is boiled first properly, and you can add some tadka to enhance the flavour. Dal chawaal creates nostalgia for people who live away from their homes. Some families use butter, but you can let the host know about your food habits if you are a vegan.
Kofta: The actual meaning of kofta is meatballs. Though vegetarians use cottage cheese, vegans can use tofu, raw banana, or mixed vegetables instead of meat. This is a spicy, creamy gravy that is consumed mostly with rice. But you can substitute regular dairy cream with vegan cream.
Dum aloo: Potato is one of the traditional vegetables of India. Dum Aloo is a typical Kashmiri dish where you cook boiled potatoes with peas and a lot of spices. There is hardly any kind of non-vegan ingredients used in this dish.
Pulao: Vegetable pulao is a wholesome meal, especially for rice lovers. The fragrance of classic basmati with succulent veggies and an aromatic mixture of spices like nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon, bay leaves, pepper mace can make your taste buds go bonkers.
Kidney beans: Rajma chawaal, one of the most adored dishes in the whole of north India. Kidney beans are simmered in a heaping mix of spices and served with rice. Along with being an entirely vegan dish, it is also beneficial for calorie conscious people.
Hara bhara kebab: It is a very convenient munchie for vegans. This is a round patty made with green veggies, and it is a similar looking dish like falafel.